Task Force Welcomes the General Statement made by Argentina on behalf of 50 Member States at the High-Level Meeting on Ending AIDSUnited Nations | New York

June 8, 2016

The High-Level Task Force for the ICPD welcomes the General Statement delivered today by the Government of Argentina on behalf of a cross-regional group of 50 Member States during the High-Level Meeting on Ending AIDS. This initiative was co-lead by the Governments of Argentina and Iceland.

In the Statement, the governments commit to taking a human rights and gender-responsive approach, with evidence-based policies and adequate investments, to ending AIDS as a public health threat by 2030. Highlights include:

  • Reaffirming all human rights for all people, without distinction of any kind, and condemning hate crimes and all forms of discrimination, stigma and violence committed against people living with HIV, and calling for the removal of punitive laws that undermine prevention efforts and block access to services;
  • Reaffirming the centrality of the human rights and empowerment of women and girls and gender equality to ending the AIDS epidemic, with emphasis on ending gender-based and sexual violence, including intimate partner violence, marital rape, sexual exploitation and trafficking, child, early and forced marriage and female genital mutilation; and
  • Promoting sexual and reproductive health and rights for all, with particular attention to women and adolescent girls and key populations at higher risk of HIV, and calling for quality, affordable and integrated SRH and HIV and AIDS information, education and services, and comprehensive sexuality education and youth-friendly SRH services, including to combat the rising rates of infection among adolescent girls.

The statement was delivered on behalf of the Governments of Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, and Uruguay.

The Government of the Cook Islands has also aligned itself with this Joint Statement.